Graduate Diploma/Masters in Mathematics

Which courses are worthwhile, express your opinion here.

Graduate Diploma/Masters in Mathematics

Postby mhsusilo » Wed Jun 22, 2011 3:48 am

Hi Everyone,

I am new to this forum and would like to get some advice from other quants.

My background is in accounting and finance at university level. It was only half way through my degree that I found out accounting was a waste of time for my career objective of becoming a successful quant trader and that I should have focused more on applied mathematics. I am in my last semester of university (gonna finish off what I started) but I was recommended to do a graduate diploma or masters in mathematics. I have a few questions related to this recommendation.

Firstly, what is the difference between a graduate diploma and doing a normal accounting finance degree and diploma in mathematics (completed whilst at undergraduate level)? Can anyone recommend any courses in Australia, in particular is UWA's school of mathematics reputable to build the foundations for a career in financial mathematics?

Secondly, would a masters in financial mathematics be considered as a masters in mathematics or should I really focus on pure mathematics? Does anyone know of any reputable Masters in Financial Engineering courses in Australia? I know that UNSW, UWA, Macquarie and University of Wollongong have masters in financial mathematics but I am not sure if that is the same as a masters in financial engineering.

Any help will be much appreciated.

Kind Regards,

Marco
mhsusilo

Re: Graduate Diploma/Masters in Mathematics

Postby mj » Thu Jun 30, 2011 6:39 am

I don't see how pure mathematics would help you -- in fact, I suspect you have a poor notion of what pure mathematics is.

To be able to complete a financial engineering degree requires a high level of mathematical sophistication. This means doing some form of course in it such as a diploma or masters aimed at non-science students.