Product Controller vs. Actuarial Analyst

How to get your first job? post your questions and stories here.

Product Controller vs. Actuarial Analyst

Postby Howard Roark » Sun Nov 15, 2009 6:44 am

I am a student at the last year of my actuarial science and statistics program. I have an interest in investments and I'm positive that I don't want to work in a stressful FO environment so my goal is to get into risk management or ALM.

I have a few options available and I've narrowed these down to two: (1) an entry-level actuarial science student rotation program at a life firm and (2) a product controller role at a bank's fixed income derivatives division.

I know what option one entails: It should be a relatively structured route where I continue to take SOA exams (choose Investments or Finance/ERM track in the final two exams) while gaining experiences in different departments as I rotate. These different experiences should give me an understanding of the different liabilities and through networking and some luck, I should be able to get a role in ALM or risk management. I may also take the FRM after I get my FSA. It requires hard work and offers a stable career.